Today's Hours: 8:00am - 8:00pm


Filter Applied Clear All

Did You Mean:

Search Results

  • Book
    Michael T. Lawton, MD ; illustrations by Xavier Studio: Kenneth Xavier Probst, MA, CMI.
    Summary: "The book is organized into three sections: tenets, the seven arteriovenous malformations, and selection. The tenets establish eight steps for AVM resection that comprise the phases of battle, as follows: step 1, exposure; step 2, subarachnoid dissection; step 3, defining the draining vein; step 4, defining the feeding arteries; step 5, pial dissection; step 6, parenchymal dissection;, step 7, ependymal or deep dissection; and step 8, finally resection. Critical concepts for dissection and resection are covered in the tenets section. In the section on the seven arteriovenous malformations, the anatomical battlefields for the lobes and deep regions are reviewed, 32 subtypes are described, and a resection strategy is presented for each subtype, step by step. The selection section addresses the secret to successful AVM surgery, which has nothing to do with surgical strategy or technique; rather, it is choosing your battles wisely"--Provided by publisher.

    Subarachnoid dissection
    Draining veins
    Feeding arteries
    Pial dissection
    Parenchymal dissection
    Ependymal/deep dissection
    Arteriovenous malformation resection
    Intraoperative arteriovenous malformation rupture
    Surgeon factors
    Frontal arteriovenous malformations
    Temporal arteriovenous malformations
    Parieto-occipital arteriovenous malformations
    Ventricular and paraventricular arteriovenous malformations
    Deep arteriovenous malformations
    Brainstem arteriovenous malformations
    Cerebellar arteriovenous malformations
    Patient selection
    Multimodality management strategies and treatment selection.